How to Delete Reddit Account and What Happens When You Do
Deleting Reddit account is pretty straightforward and fast. It’s also irreversible and final, so proceed with caution.
To help you out, here are the exact steps to follow when deleting your Reddit account:
- How to delete Reddit account using a desktop browser
- How to delete my Reddit account on mobile?
- What happens when I delete my Reddit account? (Read this before deleting your Reddit account!!!)
- Use any web browser (Safari, Google Chrome, FireFox, etc.) to login to your Reddit account
- Click “Preferences” in the top-right corner and there click the tab “Deactivate”
- Enter your username and password as well as (optionally) provide the deletion reason
Note: If you don’t know your Reddit account name, no one (including Reddit administrators) will be able to help you. That is, if you don’t have your Reddit account, you won’t be able to delete it.
- There is no way to delete your account from Reddit official app, sadly
- If you are reading this from a mobile device: click this link, login to your Reddit account and you will be able to delete your Reddit account using a mobile browser using the above steps
You Won’t Be Able To Restore Your Account
There’s no way to recover your Reddit account once you delete it. Unlike with Quora deletion, Reddit profile removal has no grace period: Reddit account deletion is instant and irreversible.
That being said, you won’t have any time to change your mind, so you’d better be sure you want to remove your Reddit profile.
Your Deleted Reddit Username Will Be Gone Forever
Your old Reddit username will be forever gone: You (or anyone else) will not be able to re-use your old account name when registering a new Reddit account.
In other words, once you delete your Reddit account, your username will never re-appear on the site.
Your Reddit Content Will NOT Be Deleted
Now, this is a questionable practice as far as I am concerned, but it is the reality. Even though, Reddit claims no ownership over the content you post on Reddit, there’s no way to remove all your content from the site, even by deleting your account.
So what happens to your threads and comments once you delete your Reddit account:
- Your comments will still be on the site but instead of your username, there will be [deleted] where you’d normally see the comment author
- There will be no way to check your public account history (your old comments) as [deleted] is not clickable:
If you want your comments deleted, you need to manually delete them one by one, prior to deleting your Reddit account.
Once your Reddit profile is deactivated, you won’t be able to do anything about your public posts.
Takeaways: Emerying You Should Know About Deleting Your Reddit Profile
- To delete your Reddit account, click this link and enter your Reddit username and password
- If you don’t remember your Reddit account name, you will not be able to delete it
- To delete your Reddit account on a mobile device, you will have to load the same page using your mobile browser. There’s no way to do that using the mobile app
- Once your Reddit account is deleted, it is gone forever. There’s no grace period for you to change your mind and no way to restore it.
- Deleting your Reddit account doesn’t delete your Reddit content, sadly. If you want your Reddit account to be removed, you’ll need to manually delete your posts, one by one, prior to deleting your account.
- Once you delete your Reddit profile, you will not be able to delete your own Reddit content.
If you struggle with deleting your account on Reddit (or anywhere else), please post your questions in the comments!