How to Delete Tumblr Account and What Happens When You Do

Published by Stan Profy on

You can delete your Tumblr account any minute now. It’s really easy to do. All you need to know is your login details.

Do take a minute to read what happens when you delete your account on Tumblr though as this action is irrevocable and permanent.

To Delete Your Tumblr Account

  • Login to your Tumblr account
  • Click profile icon in the top-right corner
  • Click “Settings”
  • Scroll down to the very bottom and click “Delete Account”
  • Enter your Tumblr username and password to confirm
To Delete Your Tumblr Account
Permanently delete your Tumblr account by clicking this button

The action is instant. There will be no confirmation request after you enter your username and password:

Tumblr account deleted
Once you see this, deletion cannot be canceled or reversed. Your content is lost for good. You can sign up for the same with the same account name right away, if you feel adventurous (Or if you want lock your name for no one else to register it)

How to Delete Your Tumblr Account on Mobile?

At this point you cannot delete your account using the Tumblr app. You can login to your Tumblr account using any mobile browser (e.g. Safari) and follow the steps above to delete your account.

How to Delete Your Tumblr Account on Mobile
To permanently delete your Tumblr account using a mobile device, login to your account using any mobile browser and tap “Delete account” button

What Happens if You Delete Your Tumblr Account?

  • This action is instant and final.
  • There’s no grace period when you can change your mind, so it’s irreversible
  • Your primary Tumblr blog content will be deleted for good
    • If you were contributing to group blogs, that content will remain intact. If you want to remove your group blog contributions, you’ll have to manually delete the content prior to deleting your Tumblr account
  • All your likes and messages will be deleted
  • Your Tumblr blog URL will be available for others to use
  • You can register a new Tumblr account with the same username

How To Delete a Group Blog on Tumblr

You can only delete a group blog on Tumblr if you are the only contributing member. If there are other members on the blog, you cannot delete it, even if you are an admin / creator. You can only leave a group blog on Tumblr:

  • Login to your Tumblr account
  • Click profile icon in the top-right corner
  • Click your group blog name you want to leave
  • Now click “Members” to the right
  • Click “Leave this blog” button
Delete a Group Blog on Tumblr
You cannot delete a group Tumblr blog if there are other contributors there. You can only leave it

What Happens if Your Leave a Tumblr Blog?

  • If you were the only member of the blog, this action will delete the whole blog for good!
  • If there are other members contributing to the blog, leaving it will not change the blog content
  • This action is final. You cannot re-join the blog unless the current admin invites you again
  • If you were the blog admin, another contributor member will become an admin once you leave the blog
  • Your current blog content will remain untouched. Leaving a Tumblr blog doesn’t delete your account from it. At this point there is no way to bulk-delete your contributions to a group Tumblr blog apart from deleting your primary account.

Tumblr calls leaving a group blog a “divorce”, only it is not. The thing is, you usually take at least something away with you when divorcing. When you leave a group Tumblr group, you are left with nothing and the other side gets everything: All the content, including yours.

Takeaways: How to Delete Your Tumblr Account?

  • Deleting your Tumblr account is instant and permanent
  • You can delete your account by going to Tumblr settings and confirming
  • Once you confirm the deletion request, your likes, messages, primary blog content will be gone from the site forever. The only exception of your group blog contributions. These will remain active.
  • Your blog URL will be available for other people to register
  • You cannot delete a group blog if there are other contributors. You can only leave it.
    • If you want to delete your contributions to a group private blog, you need to do that prior to leaving it or deleting your Tumblr account

Again, deleting your Tumblr account is quick and easy but give it some thought before you take an action, as deleting is permanent and irreversible. Tumblr is a great platform with some great community and awesome tag search features, but you may still have your reasons to quit it for good, so following the steps above you can do so quickly.

Do you have any other questions about Tumblr? Please post them in the comments and we’ll find the solutions for you!

JOIN OUR NEWSLETTER
I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )
Join over 3.000 visitors who are receiving our newsletter and learn to do a new thing every week
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone.
Spread the love
Categories: Solve

0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *